Monday, January 26, 2009

Gulab Tosripo 2005-2006 (Gulab Awards 2005-2006)

25th 'Gulab' awards function held

by J P Pereira

The 'Gulab' Awards, promoted by the Konkani magazine 'Gulab' were instituted
in the year 1983 to recognise and encourage talent on the Konkani stage by
the late Fr Freddy J da Costa. This is the 25th year of presenting these
prestigious awards on the 20th July, 2007 the 54th birthday of Fr Freddy,
the editorial board of 'Gulab' in association with Manfa Music, Margao
presented trophies not only to artistes of the Konkani stage but also to
writers, sports persons and other personalities.The programme was well
organised, the presentation of awards interspersed with Konkani songs and
four comedy skits, which the audience enjoyed.

The award for the personality of the year went to Dr Oscar Rebello, for the
agitation he led against the draconian Regional Plan. In his short speech,
the good doctor urged Goans to keep the interest of Goa above all.

The award for a Konkani writer in Roman Script went to Cruzinho R Pinho and
Stefi Vaz bagged the award for sports. Some personalities were felicitated
for their good work in promoting the Konkani language and other social
issues. These included Sudha Amonkar, Remmie Colaco, Romaldo Rodrigues, G R
Crasto and Daniel F D'Souza. These were presented with a citation and a

The awards for best actor on the Konkani stage was bagged by Peter de
Benaulim for his role of a lecherous rich man in Rosefern's 'Goemkar'. Rosy
Alvares was declared best actor, for her outstanding performance of a
handicapped person in Mario Menezes' heart touching drama, 'Tachem Chintat
Tinvuim mhonxeam'. This drama also fetched its writer and director, Mario
Menezes, the award for best script and best director.

The best comedian award went to ben Evangelisto for a wonderful imitation of
the late Jacinto Vaz in the grand revival of M Boyer's Konkani drama
'Sounsar Sudhorlo'. Sharon bagged the award for best female singer while
Osvi viegas was declared the best male singer.

The award for best musician went to Norman Cardozo for his score in the
drama 'Pallam' written and directed by Donald Colaco.

The awards were presented for the year 2005- 2006.

In between the presentation of awards, the audience were treated to some
nice songs by Lawry Travasso, Pascoal Rodrigues, C d'Silva, Osvi Viegas and
Felcy. A humorous comedy skit in four parts, written and directed by
Agostinho Temudo featuring Janet, Anita, Ambe, Selvy and Agostinho kept the
audience in splits. A VCD of a film titled 'Vadoll' was also released.

The function was compered in style by Annie Quadros with Mario Menezes and
the felicitation was conducted by Agnelo de Bori. Norman Cardozo provided
the beautiful music and while Fausto V da Costa, editor of the 'Gulab' spoke
on the magazine and the importance of the awards, Fabian G da Costa proposed
the vote of thanks and stated that the awards were presented on the basis of
points awards by an independent panel of judges.

We hope that the magazine 'Gulab' continues to recognise and reward genuine
talent from Goa.

No comments:

Post a Comment